

April 11, 2022

The Honorable Deb Haaland Secretary U.S. Department of the Interior 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20240

Dear Secretary Haaland,

We write to urgently request that the Department of the Interior (DOI) provide the Honor Flight Network with the National Park Service's United States Park Police (USPP) vehicular escort services granted in previous years. Our brave veterans have made tremendous sacrifices to secure the freedoms we enjoy today. As a nation, we owe it to our heroes to give them the utmost honor and privilege that they deserve on their Honor Flight to Washington, D.C.

Since its founding, the Honor Flight Network has taken more than 245,000 World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, and terminally ill veterans on an all-expense paid trip to visit our nation's capital. Veterans visit – many for the first time – the very war memorials dedicated to their service to our country. During these trips, veterans share memories and accounts from their time in service, pay tribute to their lost comrades, and build important bonds with fellow participants. Honor Flights Hubs meticulously plan these experiences to further the Honor Flight Network's vision of a country where "all of America's veterans experience the honor, gratitude, and community of support they deserve."²

In order to accomplish this worthy vision, it is imperative that DOI provide USPP vehicular escort services to Honor Flight Hubs slated to arrive this spring. The escort services play a critical logistical role in ensuring these once-in-a-lifetime opportunities run smoothly and safely as Hubs navigate the busy National Mall. It is imperative that veterans – particularly those with physical disabilities – have the necessary parking access to ensure ease of entry to each war memorial to get the full experience they have earned. As a country, we have asked much of our men and women in uniform. Time and again, they answered the call. We request that you grant Honor Flight Hubs the necessary vehicular escorts our veterans have clearly earned.

We appreciate your attention to this important matter and look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Chip Roy Member of Congress Kevin McCarthy House Republican Leader

Mike Bost

Ranking Member

Committee on Veterans' Affairs

¹ https://www.militarytimes.com/veterans/2022/03/18/honor-flight-officials-press-to-resume-police-escorts-for-veterans/

² https://www.honorflight.org/about-us.html

Flind Styland
Elise M. Stefanik

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress

Amata C. Radwager

Aumua Amata C. Radewagen Member of Congress

Tracey Mann Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.
Member of Congress

Nancy Mace Member of Congress

Modison Cauthor

Madison Cawthorn Member of Congress Windl I. W. Carl

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

Jason Smith

Member of Congress

Jack Bergman

Member of Congress

Jim Banks

Member of Congress

Barry Moore

Member of Congress

Matthew M. Rosendale Sr.

Member of Congress

1 201

Jake Ellzey

Member of Congress

Brian Mast

Member of Congress



Scott DesJarlais, M.D. Member of Congress

Brian Fity patrick

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Ivette Herrell Member of Congress

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress Bob Good

Bob Good Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn Member of Congress

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Mike Johnson Member of Congress

Ted Budd Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz
Member of Congress



Mary & Miller Mary E. Miller

Member of Congress

Markwayne Mullin Member of Congress

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D.

Member of Congress

Sal I Bully Carte Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Jody Hice

Member of Congress

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Jay Obernolte Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

Ken Buck Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

Thomas Massie Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress Steven M. Palazzo

Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Lauren Boebert Member of Congress

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Ann Wagner Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

Clay Higgins
Member of Congress

Lee Zeldin Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress Michael Guest
Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Steve Chabot Member of Congress

Peter Meijer Member of Congress